Skip to content

Money Updates

April 1, 2013

Money is coming in, money is going out.  Here’s what is new in the Stacking Pennies household.

I got a raise.  Not a bad raise, but not the ~7% raises I’ve gotten in the past. This wasn’t totally unexpected.  Last year was a bit of a transition year for me at work and while I got good ratings, I didn’t have any big accomplishment to point to.

If 2013 goes as planned  I will have a good justification for a promotion (maybe – these are usually in late summer, so that’s a bit early) or a really good raise (more likely).  There are some specific internal  political reasons that make a promotion less attractive than a raise right now, though it is hard to get a good raise without increasing your level… so we’ll see.   But, 2012 didn’t go as planned (not due to my actions), so I am not banking on anything yet.

I got a small bonus in February.  Yay!  (Everyone got a bonus.)

We owe taxes, and per usual, it is T’s fault.  I over withheld, but not enough to make up for his 2012 stipend income (which is taxable but has no taxes withheld).  We still haven’t done them, but the estimate is a few thousand.  (Good bye bonus!)

I did buy a few admittedly boring things with the bonus:

  • New laptop bag: One of my roles at work involved me taking my laptop to/from work every day, so I needed something easier to deal with than the bulky leather bag case my dad gave me when I was in college.  I checked Corporette for suggestions and decided this. It just barely fits my (not small) work laptop and accessories, and is lightweight and has pockets for organization.  This will be handy for traveling too.  My other role involves several trips to the east coast over the summer.
  • New comforter: light weight due to T’s complaints of overheating, silk filled due to my allergies

That’s it.  I also got some new running shoes and used my REI dividend/coupon for a new yoga mat.

That’s the money stuff, which has basically been on autopilot.  I’m still only hoping we’ve been flying in the right directing.  We checked our net worth, and it looks good, but it is partially due to the decent stock market performance this year.  I should have more time to dig into my finances next month.

On a final note, work has been  amazing in the past 6 months or so, and should continue to be pretty awesome.    It is by no means certain, but I might get to go with some really great people to an international customer meeting in the early summer, even though I’m transitioning away from that group.  Even if the trip doesn’t materialize (my hopes are already WAY up), it is nice to know that they WANTED to take me.  But so much more awesome if it actually does happen.  I’m going to be full time in my other role again, and they have some cool professional opportunities for me there as well (but no international trips).

We still have no news on T’s front, but all questions should be answered within about a month!  Hopefully, good news soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2013 10:03 am

    Congratulations on the new money and good luck with the upcoming raise. At least you had a bonus that was able to cover those expenses rather than it coming out of your pocket.

    It is a “bonus” after all.

    That bag looks super practical..

    • April 3, 2013 7:45 am

      Yes, it more than covered it. I have been wanting both for quite some time!

      The bag is fabulous. It looks classy despite being nylon instead of leather (but has pink lining for a bit of flash), it is lightweight, and it fits my bulky work laptop + cords + papers and I’ve used it daily since I got it and it is the best purchase of 2013 so far!

  2. April 1, 2013 10:55 am

    You may already know this, but T should be able to set up withholdings for his stipend through his university or funding agency – whoever issues his pay – even if it is non-compensatory. Even if not, he could file estimated taxes so you don’t have to jack up your withholdings. If you haven’t already experienced this, if you end up owing a lot you could be hit with fines as well, so it’s probably safer to file estimated for his pay. I think it’s worth it if it bothers you to owe at the end of the year!

    • April 1, 2013 11:08 am

      This isn’t applicable anymore as he is on a postdoc position for 2013. We never had to pay fines, as we always owed more taxes than the previous year, which exempts you from fines. One year he did pay estimated taxes. I think it was when he did consulting. In general, we have just sorted it out at tax time…. I’m so glad that this is no longer applicable though!

  3. April 6, 2013 10:03 pm

    Congrats on the raise!
    The Dooney and Bourke bag is gorgeous. I’m seriously jealous. Good choice.

  4. April 8, 2013 10:07 am

    Congrats on the raise and having such a great time with your new role! I’m glad things are still positive during your transition periods. Rather exciting time, yeah?

    Lovely new bag – I keep trying to find good travel/work bags but am never satisfied so have forced myself to give up for now. (Esp since I want nylon weight but leather looks…)

    Fingers crossed for T!

Leave a Reply

