Skip to content

Good Things

April 28, 2013

Today, I have a few good things to share with you all!

We have fantastic news on T’s job front!  Having so much uncertainty about our future has been a major factor in why I haven’t been writing (aside from generally being busy).  I hope to share some more information soon (although not details).  He has two offers we’re considering, and they are both in California…    and one is right here in town, no moving required!  We should know for sure what we are doing SOON.  This is the best possible outcome.  It makes every day we spent apart these past months so worth it (and to be honest, we’ve spent a lot less time apart than you would guess).

I honestly can’t believe how ridiculously lucky we are.      This past weekend, we threw a little party to celebrate with lots of champagne, food, friends and fun!

I finished my 3rd marathon!  Both my training and thus my finish time were not as good as last year – but I did it.  My goal got progressively easier from “maybe i can beat last year’s time!” to “ok, let’s just not get my worst time ever and let’s finish without crying!”   I did achieve those two goals, but it wasn’t a great race   My friend came in from North Carolina and finished her first half marathon.  It was a great weekend, aside from the 2nd half of my marathon.

We celebrated our 3rd anniversary with a trip north of the SF bay area to see the redwoods and the coast.  Check out the trees!  (Also, I cut my hair short in January!)

talltrees

And also, the coast – who knew garbage could turn into something so beautiful?glassbeach
I am so in love with California.

california

Finally, my job is going great!    I’m going on an international business trip to a customer site in June, and am super excited about it.  There has been some uncertainty in other areas, and I still don’t quite have a long-term direction figured out… but I’m really happy where I’m at for now, which counts for a lot.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2013 9:11 pm

    Yay! So happy for you and T. Limbo is definitely the worst.

  2. April 28, 2013 9:33 pm

    Choices are awesome!!! Congratulations! Are these for TT positions or other types of academic jobs?

  3. May 10, 2013 6:38 pm

    Yay!! Congrats to T. Two offers!! And I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying your job too. Looks like everything is settling into place. 🙂

  4. May 11, 2013 7:16 am

    Amazing! And in California– that’s wonderful!

  5. May 22, 2013 6:38 am

    Congrats on the offers are you close to making the decision? Really lovely photos. I tried to get my wife to move to CA but all her family is on the east coast so its a no go. Those trees are amazing.

    • June 17, 2013 3:40 pm

      Yes – we are staying here 🙂

      our families are in the Midwest, and we did look there. Unfortunately, job opportunities are fairly limited.

      • Bonnie permalink
        June 26, 2013 9:37 am

        hope you haven’t given up on this blog!

  6. June 30, 2013 8:00 am

    Was just stopping back by to see how things are going with you and T I haven’t see a post in awhile.

Trackbacks

  1. Favorite Posts, Mentions, and Top Comments Week of 28April2013 | Evolving Personal Finance
  2. March Wrap-up / April Goals | Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

