Skip to content

We’re moving to NorCal!

October 1, 2013

The word is sufficiently out at my workplace, so I feel comfortable sharing this with you guys – even though we don’t have firm plans yet.  You maybe could have guessed if you are super astute (slash stalker) blog reader.  [I did say T got two great offers, one in town and one in NorCal… then went radio silent on the topic!]

So, I’m really excited about this!  I love California, and I am soooooo looking forward to exploring a new area.  I’ll miss my beach life here (I will never get sick of the beach life!!!), but there is a lot more to discover there, and I’m excited.  As long as I have somewhere to run, I’m happy.  And we will join a wine club!

Consequently, I’m quitting my job.  I love my job.  It really has turned into a dream job over the past couple of years, and I  couldn’t ask for better.  This was not a decision that we made lightly.  I was always prepared for the possibility of this, but I honestly wasn’t prepared for the reality.  It has been tough to come to terms with it, but I only accidentally cried once at work when telling people.  I know that it is the right decision.  Actually, that isn’t true.  We are still really torn about whether or not it was the right decision, but it is the decision we made.

I’m also leaving my company.  My company is big enough that I could quit my job and stay in my company.  This would have been somewhat possible, but geographically inconvenient.  Also, if there was ever a time to try something new, now is that time.  Therefore, I’m trying something new.

I’m trying to leave my industry, and attempting to break into an entirely new area, for a variety of reasons.  I think I’m on the verge or an offer (:::fingers crossed::::).  More details if I’m successful at getting an offer and coming to agreeable terms.  If I fail, you never get to know!

Best of all, the long distance marriage will soon to become a REGULAR NORMAL marriage!

More to come!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2013 7:33 pm

    Yay! Congrats!!! That is awesome news.

    • October 1, 2013 7:41 pm

      Thanks! It will be more awesome once we have some details nailed down… move date, housing, JOB for me, etc!

  2. October 1, 2013 8:26 pm

    Congrats! I hope the move goes well 🙂

  3. tom permalink
    October 2, 2013 8:53 am

    Awesome, congrats!

    I’m sad to hear that you’re leaving the company, but very happy for you and this new opportunity!

    • October 2, 2013 10:04 am

      I’m pretty sad about it as well, but excited for future opportunities

      Never again will I be offered a job that includes a pension!

  4. October 2, 2013 4:45 pm

    Wow. Big news. Congrats again to T on his new job. I’m sorry you have to quit your current job but it’s an exciting time for you to explore and perhaps find something better perhaps? More pay? More benefits? More vacation time even? I mean, now that you’ve had more experience from your current job and likely awesome references, you’ll be able to negotiate and pick the right job for you. Good luck with the move!

  5. October 2, 2013 8:46 pm

    Congratulations on the upcoming short/no-distance marriage! That’s so exciting that you’ll get to explore a new field, even if you love your current job.

    • October 7, 2013 3:53 pm

      Fingers crossed that it works out!

  6. October 3, 2013 8:30 am

    Good luck! We ❤ Northern California! (I think once you live there, you can't call it Norcal anymore.)

    • October 7, 2013 3:53 pm

      haha, i have a little time left. Northern California, how inefficient!

  7. October 3, 2013 11:05 pm

    Yippee!! I’m very excited. You’re the only one of my friends who has moved up here since I left SoCal.

    • October 7, 2013 3:52 pm

      Excited! We may end up in an area a bit further from you – but still excited! Will do game night!

Leave a Reply

