Skip to content

An almost complete set of 2014 goals

February 9, 2014
I’ve been thinking a lot about 2014 goals, and ultimately, long-term goals.  I prefer to start with big picture “where do I want to go” type goals before breaking that down into what I want to do this year.  Ultimately, my list of things I want to do this year is too long for me to actually handle without sacrificing things I don’t want to sacrifice (sleep, relationships, etc.). I’m careful what I commit to, because once I decide I am going for something, it is hard for me to give up.  While I sometimes fail my monthly goals, my longer term goals are something I don’t give up on.

 

These goals, like myself, are a work in progress.

 

Relationship / Family / Friends:  I won’t put goals here, because that is silly.  I just want to note that it is a priority, and I’m going to make it a priority.  I’ll self-evaluate at the end of the year.

 

Be awesome at my job:  I have a long list of work goals that I’m shooting for, but here are some I’m comfortable sharing and feel are of note.a few
  • Get at least an average bonus (this means I’m at least doing an average job).  My ultimate goal is to position myself for a promotion, but I think this year will be too soon.
  • Initiate at least one work social event
  • Host a book club with work related book
  • Apply for an exec. MBA, or decide for certain that it is not a good idea.  I don’t want to go full time, and if I am going part time, this seems like the better/quicker route.  It is earlier than the average for this, but with kids and such, it may be better to start sooner than later.  I honestly can’t come up with a good time to do this (aside from 3-4 years ago), but I want this to stay on my radar until I actively decide it is the wrong choice.
Save for the future:  As this is the alleged main focus of this blog, obviously I have some financial goals (joint with T).
  • Max out our available retirement vehicles.  That’s about $52k pre-tax, nothing post tax.  (I’m not doing a back door Roth IRA for a few reasons.)
  • Save $27k for a house.  I need to revisit this number once I get our second month’s paycheck, but this is our initial target.
  • Track all spending and stare it in the face each month!  (If we aren’t going to budget, we at least have to be very aware of what we are spending.)
Invest in my health
  • Run 2 half marathons and have regular running (or other cardio) routine
  • Be able to do 10 push-ups
  • Incorporate something new into my routine, preferably strength related
  • Invest in my mental health
Be a global citizen.  This is a fancy way of saying “travel”, although I will want to find other ways if/when I’m not able to travel so much in the future.  (The bolded goals are the overtones and will likely apply for many years, while the bullets are the details for this year.)
  • Plan a vacation to either France, Nepal, or Patagonia.  Or Kilimanjaro.  Yikes, I need to do some research here and figure out what I want to do!
  • Take French class.  Even if Spanish or Chinese would be much more practical.  Whatever.  I am in love with France right now.  This is a big time commitment, and I’m on the fence of whether I want it or not.  I don’t even know when I’ll be going back to France.  But I do want to write this down as a goal.
Be happy.  Most of my other goals also play into this, so these are random goals that don’t fit in the other categories.
  • Find a volunteer organization and apply.  I have a few in mind.  I want it to be relevant to my long term goals and something that I believe in.
  • Create a reading list for 2014 and read from it.  (Substitutions allowed, but i have a zillion books I want to read.)
  • Get a couch / loveseat / sofa
  • Get out in nature once a month, and do at least one backpacking trip.  I love mountains!

I’ll be checking back later!  For the goal setters out there, do you have a hard time making short term goals without a long term vision?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. tom permalink
    February 10, 2014 7:38 am

    Speaking of bonuses… you’re getting yours from your previous job right? If you haven’t heard, since you might have left after they announced, but we are getting 16.25 days. They better send you a check as you earned it!

    Also, regarding MBAs… I’ve been looking all around and finally found an online part-time MBA program from a reputable school… Indiana University… Kelley School of Business offers an online program. First one I’ve found that offers a full online program.

    • SP permalink*
      February 10, 2014 11:03 am

      Pretty sure not. I checked the policies before leaving, and you have to be an active employee on the last day of the year to be eligible. I considered it, but it wasn’t worth delaying my end date to get the bonus, even though it would have been really nice. I think that is a pretty typical policy since bonuses are really more about retention than reward. That’s a great bonus though!

  2. February 10, 2014 2:09 pm

    I have very little in longterm plans or ideas at the moment. I should have enough saved in retirement by the end of 2015 to need to save another penny if I retire at 60.

    Now that I’m a bit more settled into my new job and no longer injured, I need to make a workout routine again. I’m thinking of signing up for a 5 or 10k to motivate me to run.

    • SP permalink*
      February 13, 2014 11:45 am

      Racing is so fun. I think a 10k is better – more value for the $ 🙂

      I think not having any long term plans the past year or two really made it hard to set goals. I never do retirement projection calculators – I am just saving as much as I can, while I can, with the assumption that someday I won’t be able to save enough. Maybe when I’m 40 I’ll start doing some projections. 🙂

  3. February 10, 2014 7:41 pm

    Our AGI is too high for an IRA this year, and I’m seriously considering not doing a back door Roth even though we can.

    • SP permalink*
      February 13, 2014 11:43 am

      Yeah. I have a pre-tax IRA that I’d h ave to convert and pay taxes on ($20k or so), but even if I didn’t… I just don’t think I’m going to. We have enough other options, and while it is perfectly legal, it isn’t the intent of the law.

  4. February 10, 2014 8:58 pm

    I really gotta get a job where they actually give out bonuses.

    I’ve always known roughly what my long term vision is, I think. Short term goals are harder.

Leave a Reply

