Skip to content

Women’s Money Week Day 3: Non-Traditional Income

March 5, 2014
Non-traditional income is not my priority.  My finances are best served by me focusing on my traditional career, and my well-being is best served by me using my free time for exercise, hobbies, friends, and fun.
 
I prefer to work for a company rather than freelance (at least for now).  Flexible schedules aren’t really necessary at this phase of my life, except for the freedom to travel when I need to.  Starting a business is more risky and more work than keeping my career.

The only area where I would consider trying to get side-income would be if one of my hobbies was profitable.  Unfortunately, the only remotely possible option would be blogging, and I don’t have any desire to turn this into a profitable hobby.
 
Non-traditional income is an important goal to many people, but I’m personally better served by focus on my career.
 
This post is written as part of Women’s Money Week.  While it is a short post that doesn’t add a lot to the conversation, I did want to point out that side income isn’t always the best place for people (women included) to spend time on.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2014 1:38 pm

    Absolutely – I think a lot of traditional industries (law, mediciine, accounting, engineering etc) are not suited to that.

    My industry actually is, but because of my own own skillset and preferences, and the market in NZ (though of course I wouldn’t just be restricted to NZ clients if I were freelance, but odds are some of them would be as many overseas clients prefer to hire local) I prefer to work for a company. I am pretty lucky to have had two dream jobs already, and I’m sure there will be even more to come.

  2. March 7, 2014 10:36 am

    Me too! All my major side income also comes directly from my regular job– people contact me because of my expertise on my main job.

Leave a Reply

