Skip to content

Women’s Money Week: Feminism

March 8, 2014

When statistics come in saying that only 29% of American women would describe themselves as feminist – and only 42% of British women – I used to think, What do you think feminism IS, ladies? What part of ‘liberation for women’ is not for you? Is it freedom to vote? The right not to be owned by the man you marry? The campaign for equal pay? ‘Vogue’ by Madonna? Jeans? Did all that good shit GET ON YOUR NERVES? Or were you just DRUNK AT THE TIME OF THE SURVEY?

Thank you to Caitlin Moran for the above quote.

I’ve read a lot of good post on women and money over the past week.  Yet, I can’t help but look at the topics covered and feel a little disappointed that these are still primarily discussed through the lens of women’s issues.

Work life balance isn’t just a women’s issue.  It is a parent’s issue if we are talking about childcare and flexible hours, it is everyone’s issue if we are talking about simply having a full  life outside of work.

What kind of topics would you suggest as issues that really are focused on women?  I’d suggest the wage gap, the lack of diversity in executive positions, how to gain respect at work if you are young and female, the lack of women in the sciences, or the “costs” of being a woman (societal pressures to spend money on appearance) and whether or not you follow them.    Women could share how the work around the current system and how we can all try and shape the future system.

I really appreciate the efforts and opportunities provided to highlight and to share women’s stories via Women’s Money Week.  However, as a career driven childfree woman with a traditional job, the topics didn’t resonate with me.  Most of the topics fall under “topics of interest to parents regarding managing work and kids through traditional or alternative means.”  Friday’s topic on traditional careers was the most relevant, but the list of ideas included “What careers are good for women?”.  I know I’m overly sensitive to the topic, but as someone who has been in two careers that are not known to have a lot of women, this made me bristle a little bit.

What about you?  Did the parents reading resonate with more of the topics?  What do you wish we would have talked about?

This post is part of women’s money week for the Bonus Day post.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2014 11:25 am

    I struggled with several of the topics as well, as a stay-at-home-mom. I’m out of the workforce for now, and while I know I’ll return, I don’t have any idea what I’ll be doing when I go back. There is no work-life balance when your work is your home. There is no discussion about work and kids when your kid is your work. Regardless of what we’re doing, there is pressure to be perfect at it, and that places a false dichotomy on all women – we can’t be perfect at everything!

    I really like your suggested topics, and I hope some of them will be included for next year!

    • March 11, 2014 7:18 am

      Yes, I didn’t think of that. I really enjoyed your posts on the topics, esp. the seasons. But I get frustrated when child + work is painted as a women’s issue. Or the women’s issue.

      • March 16, 2014 1:34 pm

        I understand that, and absolutely agree that in a situation where both parents are present (ie not a single parent) then it’s about BOTH parties.

        However, ultimately biology does play a role – I’m going to be the one carrying and giving birth to our kid and who is going to have to take off at least a little time to have the kid (whereas there is nothing physically requiring T to take time off). And that’s in the case of a healthy, best case pregnancy – a harder one will take a much bigger toll physically, not to mention financially. And anecdotally I feel that among everyone I know, us females are more concerned with thinking about how all these puzzle pieces are going to fit together than our husbands are … just my observation.

  2. March 17, 2014 4:37 pm

    I had intended to participate but it crept up on me this year

    • March 17, 2014 4:39 pm

      Rats, can’t seem to finish a sentence around here with a bandage on my finger! I meant to say: so I didn’t have time to prep anything. I was thinking of contributing some career and wealth building stuff though.

Trackbacks

  1. Link Love | Grumpy rumblings of the (formerly!) untenured

Leave a Reply

