Skip to content

On my mind: Disjointed Links & Thoughts

December 21, 2014

I can’t seem to write a clear post, so this is a collection of half (or quarter, or eighth) posts that I’ve tried to start.  You’ve probably seen these links, and maybe you were the one that linked me to them.  They made me think this week, so I’m sharing.   Also, I can’t bring myself to close my open browser tabs until I do something with them.

  • I never even considered that I should be apologizing for making money, so maybe this is more of a thing in creative fields.  It is not a thing in my life, but judging by the comments, it is pretty common.
  • I never intended to retire early, nor do I intend to work forever.  I’ve always been confident I could create a life of meaning without a career.  I’ve always been mystified by people who say “I want to work forever or else I”ll be bored.”  Are they just defining “work” loosely, or do they really need a job or a business they own to stop from being bored?  Anyway, I’d like to have options, and would prefer to remove the obligation to be profitable at some point.  However, reading Jacob’s post challenged that belief, especially  this statement, “I have not found anything sufficiently meaningful to replace a full fledged career with.”  Interesting.
  • This post, which shares: “Capitalism […] nurtures the illusion that career and economic success can lead to fulfillment, which is the central illusion of our time.”   This is somewhat in discord with Jacob’s thought in the previous paragraph, but not really.  A career can be part of fulfillment, but it isn’t the whole picture.  There is part of me that wants to collect achievements in life, but another part of me that asks “what is this for?  Will it make me happy?”  I’m working on keeping those two things in balance.
  • I recently read How Adam Smith Can Change Your Life, in which Ray Roberts dissects Adam smiths “other book”.  You could read the original book yourself for free if you are so inclined.  It didn’t change my life, but it did compliment some of the thoughts that have been bouncing around in my head lately.   The thesis isn’t revolutionary, is it?  Happiness is being loved by those around us and being a person of character who is worthy of that love.  I also can’t get this thought out of my mind: People have always been attracted to owning “gadgets”.   Today it is the iPad, in his time it was “a tooth-pick, of an ear-picker, […] a machine for cutting the nails.”  The nail clipper was the iPad of the 1700s.
  • With Orion being in the news lately, the conversation of “would you colonize mars” has come up.  Or maybe I instigated it a few times. At any rate, my answer is absolutely not.  Too dangerous, too scary, and why would I want a one way trip away from Earth and everything I know??  Yet, as a country composed of mostly immigrants, didn’t our ancestors all do that?  For more recent immigrants,  the trip wasn’t so necessarily one-way as it was, say, in the 1600s.  But still.  It is something I have been thinking about.  It took either great courage or great desperation, or maybe both.
  • I’m wrapping up the final days of my job, and I have mixed feelings.   I have no doubt I made the right decision, and have no mixed feelings about my new job.  I’m happy to be moving on, but I also wish I could turn my old job into a more positive experience overall.  Now that I’m leaving, I don’t have the chance.  Yet, I don’t actually WANT the chance.  I don’t want to spend the next 6 months fighting to improve things.  That sounds terrible.  I’m totally excited to jump to something else.  Yet, I feel like a quitter for leaving my old job.  I mean, I am quitting.  I quit!  I guess this is a first – the other jobs I’ve quit, I left for mostly personal reasons, like moving far far away.

Anyway, it is really December 21, and almost time for a rest for the holidays.  Hopefully I’ll be back with some 2015 goals!  Yay 2015!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2014 1:10 am

    Thanks for sharing your open tabs! I would have missed that APW post – like you, I definitely may have started out with a creative-related education but I’ve never for a second felt apologetic for making money and being good at making money happen.

    And it led me to a handy set of links on entrepreneurship related stuff that I have to read and digest.

    I feel like there’s a difference between calling it quits to seek greener pastures and being a “quitter” (the first being a mindful choice, and the latter being motivated by … being unmotivated, I guess!) so with that in mind, I don’t think you’re a quitter at all!

    • December 23, 2014 9:48 pm

      Well, I think it is a bit of both in my case 🙂 I’m certainly quitting towards something, but it is giving up on the old one and moving to the new.

      Yeah, APW has quite a lot of entrepreneurial bits on it. It isn’t really up my alley, but interesting reads when I find myself over there.

  2. December 23, 2014 4:24 pm

    I’ve had such similar feelings about changing jobs, feeling like a quitter, especially when it’s the second team in a row that didn’t work out. Is there something wrong with me? But there are just some things that fundamentally didn’t work out about this job that I couldn’t have predicted, e.g. being reorgd onto a team that I never would have picked myself. I hope I picked better for the next one – I think that’s my main worry.

    • December 23, 2014 9:47 pm

      Right? How can you know for sure? If the dice at my current job landed slightly differently, my experience would have been much different. Although I still would have made the right choice, I think.

      Even if what you sign up for is great, all jobs evolve, so i guess there is no way to know for certain. Good luck in your next role!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly review: Week ending December 26, 2014 - sacha chua :: living an awesome life

Leave a Reply

