Skip to content

February Updates

February 13, 2015

It’s been nearly a month since I last wrote!  Here is what’s up.

We’ll get a net tax refund this year.  I’ve really struggle to estimate our tax bill this year (apparently).  I assumed T’s paycheck would be posted in 2014, but later realized it would be the first few days of January.   I only considered the fact that we wouldn’t get the 401k contribution, but forgot that we also wouldn’t have the associated income.  At any rate, we have most of our infos in Turbotax, so I’m pretty sure this time.  I think.  That frees up the $3k I had set aside to pay our taxes, as well as whatever refund we get.  We’ll owe to California (as always) and we’ll have a federal refund that will cover it.

We’re getting a puppy!  I had some buffer in our budget, and we decided now is the time to add a new family member.  This likely will impact our vacation plans.  I knew I was serious about a puppy when I realized I was willing to delay/forgo an intended vacation in order to accommodate a puppy into our life.  🙂

(It is coming from a very reputable breeder, and no, I’m not accepting opinions on why we should rescue.   We are absolutely NOT supporting a puppy mill or a breeder whose puppies end up in rescue.)

Drainage work is supposedly starting next week, but the date isn’t confirmed yet.  It is the most recent project in our series of home maintenance projects that the average person would never see (furnace, bathroom fans, and now drainage).  Can’t wait to do the roof in a few years!  (<— sarcasm)

We’ve made no other real progress on the house.  We haven’t been home many weekends so far, but I’m hoping to get some minor things (hedges, picture hanging) done this weekend.  We still haven’t even got a desk.

New job is great!  I mean, I’m still new and figuring out the work.  But I like the people a lot, the project will be interesting, the commute is amazing, the hours are reasonable, and I really have no complaints.  And…. Dubai next week – woo hoo!

Two links:

Reasons you were not promoted totally not related to gender.  Related:  I was asked last week if this was “my first big job”.  I tried really hard not to roll my eyes.  At least I wasn’t mistaken for an intern or student.  Gah.

You must watch this.  Apparently there is some back story about the dancer being a rebel that is also perhaps interesting, but I only cared about watching the dancing.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2015 12:41 pm

    We’ll be paying something like 6K… because of stupidity on my part. *sigh*

  2. February 13, 2015 12:58 pm

    Not opining on rescue or non-rescue, but we got a six month old puppy from a rescue two months ago (we figured a young puppy would be a bit much for us), and I’m still in shock in how much the little beast costs! And she thankfully already had a bunch of her vaccines and was spayed by the rescue.

    • February 13, 2015 3:16 pm

      Congratulations on your puppy! I’ve heard that it is very bad to give away free puppies/dogs, even rescues, because it lowers the adoption barrier. not sure if this is actually true or backed up by anything, but it seems reasonable!

      (I’m a little more accepting of opinions from people who actually have pets – you’d be surprised at how many pet-less people have opinions. It is like the first thing people say.)

  3. February 13, 2015 3:09 pm

    PUPPY. I ❤ puppies! YAY PUPPY! 🙂

  4. February 14, 2015 7:39 am

    YAY!! PUPPY!! What breed are you getting?!?!

    Also – woah. Dubai? How long are you going for?

    • February 15, 2015 4:24 pm

      6 days including 1 day of travel on either end… I have 3 days of meetings and one day to do site seeing / try to overcome jet lag! If/when I go again, I will probably try to stay longer, but I’m kinda new, so decided not to.

      We’re getting a vizsla puppy – a running buddy for me, and high energy 🙂

  5. February 22, 2015 11:26 pm

    Puppy!! I am ALWAYS excited about people getting dogs and hope that it works out well. (I have in mind an adoption that could have been great but they won’t train the great lump of Needs Training and now that’s a dog that’s no fun to be around.) Would you bring said puppy by if he/she can deal? PiC loves the breed.

    I’m still trying to get our paperwork together for our taxes, alas.

    • February 23, 2015 3:21 am

      Yes, I would love to bring a puppy by! We are supposed to socialize it a lot in the first few months with new people, environments, etc. It is coming home mid-april, so sometime in late april/may would work, assuming there are no unforseen puppy issues.

Leave a Reply

