Skip to content

I love my new job

March 26, 2015

I love my new job.

I’m still adjusting, which comes with bouts of imposter syndrome, uncertainty, anxiety…  all totally normal things that are unpleasant, but not unexpected nor unbearable.  I still have a lot to learn, but not only do I think I can learn whatever I need to, no one else seems to doubt it either.  It is so refreshing to be assumed to be competent, rather than… well, I don’t know exactly what my last day-to-day manager assumed.  That is something I had taken for granted at previous jobs. It was extremely frustrating  and demoralizing to realize that someone you are working closely with doesn’t believe in you.

I want to learn from my experience in my 2014 consulting gig, but I also just want to leave it the heck behind me and not look back.

I never expected to be a person who hated their job.  It felt like a personal failure to be so unhappy with what I was spending my days doing.   I’m a positive person. I’m determined.  Most of all, I have been successful in the past in maneuvering myself into favorable positions.  Periods of frustration are part of any job, but I have always been able to get from a point of frustration into a situation where things worked.   Last year, I was in a situation that was making me miserable, and I couldn’t figure out how to get out of it without quitting my job or waiting it out.

In my new job, and everything feels right so far. The work is mostly interesting and varied. The people are great.  The culture is very positive, and I feel like I fit into it better.  I have the most beautiful walk to work, and I just feel so incredibly lucky.

I used to feel that way ALL OF THE TIME when we lived in our little beach apartment in southern California.  I’m so glad I’m starting to find that feeling here too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2015 3:35 pm

    The only thing I hated about consulting was upper management as an employee, and traveling. Otherwise… 🙂

    Hey, can you update your Blogroll to add my blog Save. Spend. Splurge. instead of my old one Fabulously Broke in the City?

    Thanks 😀

    • March 27, 2015 7:50 am

      Ah, yes. There are lots of defunct blogs on there too. I’ll do an update within the week, thanks for the nudge. I probably haven’t updated in YEARS, I’m a bad blogger.

      Funny, I loved our senior level management people – they were all impressive and REALLY nice. The lower levels were more spotty – some great, some not so great.

  2. March 26, 2015 5:36 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad the new job is more positive for you 🙂

    The impostor syndrome is SO bad. And how tired I am every day when I get home. There are bright lights at the end of the tunnel and it is so different from my last job that I’m optimistic it’ll get better.

  3. March 26, 2015 7:39 pm

    Yay!

Leave a Reply

