Skip to content

Summer Money Update

July 28, 2015

Mortgage pre-payment:  I am having a (likely irrational) moment of job security anxiety, so we are waiting to send in this year’s big chunk of mortgage prepayment in for a few months.  Just because the cost of small delay it is worth humoring my anxiety.

Real Estate:  Judging by the market, I can say buying last year was better than buying this year.  I can’t really say anything beyond that, but I’m glad we have a place to call home for the next many years.  I hope it turns out well financially.  My calculations said it would, but there are assumptions built in.

Retirement:  I finally rolled over my 401k from my last job. I decided to put it into my new retirement plan rather than a rollover IRA, just in case we ever decide to pursue back-door Roth.  (That is unlikely because I already have a rollover IRA from my first job, which I rolled over before I’d heard of a backdoor Roth.  It has something like $20k in it..)  My new retirement plan has OK options in terms of low-cost funds, but my previous employer’s plan had higher costs.

The most significant chunk of my retirement money is still in the 401k account from my LA job.   It is in low cost funds, I don’t see extra fees, and I don’t see a compelling reason to move it.

Vacations/Travel:  It’s July, so it is time to start thinking about options for traveling home for Christmas! I really hate being this far from our families, yet I can’t imagine ever moving back, so here we are.  I have enough miles (CC points + normal miles) to book us both, and I think we’ll use them for holiday travel.

Also booked with miles, I’m going home for a week pretty soon, but T isn’t joining.  Spending a week at home is not something I typically do in the summer.  It is possible this year because we didn’t take any other vacations and my current job has a more human vacation policy (> 3 weeks) than my LA job (which had 2 weeks for the first 5 years, then 2 weeks + 2 days for the next 10 years.  Or something terrible like that.)

My job last year had fairly flexible vacation (it was all about total billable hours in the year), but since I was new I didn’t take advantage of it.  So, we basically went on no vacations last year, aside from some long weekends here and there.  This means I haven’t been on a big international vacation since just as we moved at the end of 2013 – but to be honest, I’m kind of OK with that for now.  I still enjoy travel, but I’m not as obsessed with it as I was when I was younger.

But I might add a side trip onto my fall work trip.  T can’t join, so it is less tempting…

Job:  I really like my job, still.  I was just telling my husband how there is no one at my new job that drives me crazy, and how pleasant that is.  Even more, there are several of the people who are really impressive to me… and I am the first to admit that I’m not easily impressed and have little patience for self-promotion and BS.  On the negative side, the culture is much more laid-back than I’m used to, and roles & responsibilities are quite fluid.  I’m trying to adapt, but it does make me anxious – am I doing everything I need to be doing?  Am I butting in where I don’t need to?  It makes me nervous.

Puppy:  He’s growing up, and finally much easier to handle!  He still needs lots of exercise and attention, but that is as expected.  We no longer have to keep our eyes glued to him 100% of the time to make sure he doesn’t eat/chew things he’s not supposed to and he has started greeting me in bed in the morning without trying to leap up into the covers with me.  His monthly costs have dwindled to food/toys, although we might do another training class this fall now that he is older.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2015 6:55 am

    I always stop mortgage pre-payments when I have job insecurity. And promptly max out my 401(k). That definitely contributed to me deciding to lump sum the 401(k) at my new job.

    Some employer 401(k) plans will accept rollovers from Rollover IRAs. So you could roll the Rollover IRA into your new employer’s 401(k) plan possibly, if you wanted to open up the Backdoor Roth IRA route.

    Yay for liking your job! 😀 And awwww puppy 🙂

    • July 29, 2015 6:59 am

      I’m pretty sure I can’t roll the rollover IRA into my new plan! I don’t really intend to funnel any more money to a ROTH, so it isn’t a high priority, but worth checking.

    • July 31, 2015 9:54 am

      I think I’m going to spam on your blog comments? Just FYI. It happened on another blog this week too… I’m not a spammer!

      • July 31, 2015 6:38 pm

        Ack! I will check. I am really bad at looking at them.

  2. taylorqlee permalink
    August 5, 2015 4:00 am

    Glad everything seems to be going well! Also, puppy!!!

  3. August 6, 2015 5:29 pm

    I feel the same way about travel. In my twenties, it was actually quite a large part of our budget. My husband and I loved to take a big trip or 2 a year to Europe or Asia. But we always travelled on a shoestring (part of the fun)! Now that we are parents, we haven’t travelled at all. Mostly the thought of the organizing makes me feel sick. And the time change and flight! So, it has been a big cost saver and I am totally okay with this right now 🙂

    • August 10, 2015 4:01 pm

      Organizing travel used to be my favorite hobby! I still enjoy it, but I am also quite happy staying local and saving money!

  4. August 8, 2015 7:13 pm

    Ok, can we talk about back door IRAs? I feel like I need to discuss it with people who have done, planned to do, or will do it so I can sanity test my assumptions here.

    Is your temporary job insecurity feeling related to the fact that things are more laidback and fluid? I get the same jitters myself even when I know I shouldn’t. But yay for still enjoying the place! It’s always happy to go from a meh-situation to a much better one. I tend to get gunshy about going from a meh-job wondering if I’m going from frying pan to fire. That’s just a weird anxiety thing though.

    Also: yay puppy settling down!

Leave a Reply

