Skip to content

Life Lately

October 22, 2015

Good stuff:

I got to spend some time with my parents this month.  We played  tourist in the city, went to a really a great concert, and at so so so much great food. My mom had some health issues this year, but seems to be doing well for the time being.  I’m impressed with how well she handled everything this year.

I’ve been going on lots and lots of walks with the cutest dog and nicest husband.  Sometimes it is a pain in the butt, but we usually all are happier after a walk on the local trails.

Work stuff:  

My main project is still nuts.  I still am loving my job for the reasons it is great (the people, the projects, the commute).  However, I’ll be happy when this chaos is over and we either move forward full speed ahead – or (the most likely case) not.  My second project also blew up for a completely unrelated reason (that was in the national news), but it seems to be on track for a reasonable recovery. My involvement is still minimal.

My third project is going well and is a lot of fun – but is by definition short term and basically unfunded.  I’ve laughed a lot on this project, and learned so much already. Basically, it is fun, frustrating, and a really welcome diversion from all of the chaos on my main project.

My back-up plan still seems feasible.  I might get a fine deal in all of this, although the politics of why things happened the way they did make me rage-y.  I hope the reasons I love my job would hold in a new incarnation of it – I think they should, but the people aspect does worry me.  My potential new boss is a bit more of a perfectionist than the boss I have now.  As not-detail-loving INTJ, that worries me a little.  The upside is he is extremely smart and good, so at least I won’t struggle with the issues I had in my last job.

Personal Finance Stuff:

Well, I really haven’t been doing a lot in this area.

We bought a large monitor for our office, now we can work at home more effectively!  After being spoiled at work, it was really difficult to get anything done on a tiny screen.  However, shopping is not personal finance.

Hmm.  We are fortunate that we can skate by without paying close attention.  It isn’t the optimal solution, but it is a solution.  T just got some raises, so apparently there is more money coming in.  Our accounts are flush from summer salary and cash hoarding due to job worries, so eventually I want to figure out what to do with that.  Most likely we’ll do a modest mortgage pre-payment.  We have some modest house stuff we should take care of soon (gutter replacement on the porch, earthquake retrofitting).  Then we’ll probably hoard a bit more cash than originally planned.

That’s it for today.  I wanted to end with some good link love, but I don’t have anything bookmarked anymore.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2015 3:42 pm

    Fun! Playing tourist-host is still pretty fun, even after doing it a few years. I’d argue that spending your money is still PF, though. 🙂

  2. October 24, 2015 8:37 am

    We bought sit/stand desks and I bought a nice office chair this year. (My boyfriend already had a nice office chair.) I felt like it was a splurge, but now with how much better my back feels while using the computer at home, it doesn’t feel like a splurge anymore.

Leave a Reply

