Skip to content

Moving on

November 7, 2015

I’ve mentioned several times this fall that there has been some major uncertainty in my primary project at work, to which my job (that I LOVE) is somewhat tied. It is finally done, and we failed (although this was almost predetermined.)

It has been dying a slow and painful death for months.  The last hope I had vanished late last month when it was confirmed what the prime institution had been cooking up on their side.  I’ve been playing along, completely willing to do the job I am still being paid to do.  Yet, it is something of a relief to just have this settled. I’m implementing my back-up plans and pretty confident it will work out.

The politics of how things work internally at my job are atypical, and it was ultimately up to a few of my colleagues to make the final call (although I doubt they could have made any other decision that would have done anything but delay the inevitable).  It was clear they had talked about me in their meeting, in a “but what is SP going to do?” sense. Which, of course they would, as decent humans, but I still found it sweet and considerate. I still really appreciated it.  They also kindly passed on that the prime institution really liked me and would love to hire me (if I wanted to move out of state, which of course, I don’t). Unrealistic, but a nice thing to say, to let me know that I had done a good job.  It probably made it easier on them to know I had back-up plans.  I had mentioned plans previously, and had told them not to fight for this on my behalf.  I mean, even if I had no back-up plans, we can’t do a project for the sake of me.

Anyway, it looks like another new year, another new role. Assuming things go to plan, I still have a role at my office, which was my priority.  The job is is kind of a different job, not what I was hired to do, but it still should be interesting. It still should be a job I love.

Onward!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2015 11:48 am

    A shame it turned out to be this way but it’s heartening to hear that they did care about what would happen to you and discussed it in a way that wasn’t just nominal. I’ll look forward to hearing about your new role / back up plans!

Leave a Reply

