Skip to content

Money Lately

September 22, 2016

 

money

Money:

  • I downloaded our spending log, which I hadn’t analyzed since about April.  Things seem on track for my annual goal to spend under $100k.
  • Traveling a fair amount for work is good for the budget, although not sure if it is worth it.
  • Biggest purchase of late: Bose QuietComfort headphones.  I tried them earlier this week on a flight, T will try them next week, and we’ll decide if they are worth it. I’ve been flying a lot this year, and it is nice to cut out a bit of the noise.
  • We got our rebate for the earthquake retrofitting project.  Our total out-of-pocket cost for us was less than $600, which was amazing.  T is congratulating himself for procrastinating on this for an extra year year, as that saved us an extra $3000 due to an extra rebate.
  • We need to do some transfers and make our final mortgage pre-payments for the year.
  • My 401k is maxed out!

Work:

I need to learn to keep my mouth shut. “I could help!” was something I really didn’t need to say, unprompted when I was really just trying to get someone else to do their work, which mine depends on.  Now I have to deliver on that offer, in addition to my other stuff.

I’m feeling pulled in a lot of directions and a little unfocused and frazzled/overwhelmed.  But – I’m certainly not bored!  I’m really happy with almost everything on my plate, but I just have to figure out how to get it all done.

It’s proposal writing season. I’m hesitant to get too involved in them. They are a lot of work and mostly nights & weekends “on your own time.”  Yet they are really pretty fun, and they are also necessary. They’re also the best way to get involved in new projects. I’m helping in a small way with one that already has most of the legwork done, and revamping the one we did last year. This one isn’t completely on my own time (yay!), which helps a little.

In the next few months, I need to talk to my lead on my primary project (mostly based in Colorado) about how it is going and what our plans are in the long run. The work is super great, but the travel is a bit grating.  It is hard to be part of the team, yet separate. I want it both ways, as usual.  I want the role as long as I need it, but I want an exit strategy if something more fitting to my life comes.  It’s an odd conversation to have, especially given that we work for different places and any mutual loyalty is based only on a working relationship.  I’m targeting November to discuss, although there isn’t a rush.  I could just wait until something actually does come along – but I want to be honest about my intentions.

Life:

We are surviving doggy adolescence! We did a fun class last month where he learned to hunt for the scent of birch. We might do a Rally Obedience class next month (basically walking at a heel around cones).  These classes serve mostly to keep us on top of working with him, and they are super affordable through the humane society (approximately $80 – $100 for 6 classes).

I got to see my family in the Midwest again!  It is always so much fun, especially hanging out with my niece and nephew.  My parents are both in need of surgeries in the next year, but my fingers are crossed my mom can delay hers a bit longer.  It would be her 3rd surgery in 3  years (fixing heart defect that wasn’t discovered until a few years ago, then a lumpectomy for breast cancer, now potential back surgery stemming from a career that includes lifting).

Birthdays are coming up.  We should plan a weekend getaway!  I’m thinking driving north with the dog and staying near the coast for a couple nights.

We are still thinking about having kids “soon”.  We haven’t really moved from that position or made progress.  I’m still a bit scared of the prospect, but I also know that I want to try, and I know that means it is best to start soon.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2016 3:45 am

    You have a lot to think about!
    Although I don’t own them, I tried out some of those headphones and they have the best audio quality of any headphones I have ever tried. (I have a pair of JBL noise cancelling headphones which are pretty good but the band is uncomfortable).

  2. Jen permalink
    September 23, 2016 9:01 am

    The Bose headphones are TOTALLY worth it. They make flying so much more pleasant, and when I do listen to music or audiobooks on a flight, I feel like I don’t have to blast the volume to hear over the noise of the plane.

  3. yuppiemillennial permalink
    September 23, 2016 9:38 am

    Procrastination pays off! Sounds like you got a full plate. Good luck with everything!

  4. September 23, 2016 1:46 pm

    Sounds like things are going pretty well!

  5. September 24, 2016 10:57 am

    Is this $100K just a general bucket budget or do you have specific $$ breakdowns by area?

  6. September 25, 2016 2:50 am

    My husband has the over-ear Bose headphones. I liked them but I really prefer in-ear headphones and so I ended up going with the in-ear ones and I wish I had bought them years ago. They are SO comfy and amazing at work, in coffee shops, on planes, etc.

    Yay for maxing out your 401(k)!

    And kids…that is something we are not in 100% agreement on. I don’t want them and he doesn’t want them in the next many years, so we are really helpful that turns out to mesh…

Leave a Reply

