Skip to content

September Update

October 4, 2017

Money:  

Let’s start here, since this is a personal finance blog!

Spending – The bathroom project has started, so spending was a bit higher in September – but planned.  I started a blog page for this and will convert it a summary post when we are done.  You can see we have a long to do list before we are done!  We have spent ~$600 so far on tools and supplies for the demolition and framing portion of the project, and I sent another $9,000 to “planned spending” for some of the next steps.  (This is one of my accounting quirks – money in the planned spending account is allocated towards something specific and not counted in net worth  – but it is not spent yet. I use this most often for property taxes, but also for other larger expenses that are imminent.)  My total estimate is a bit over $15k.

I also finally got two rugs and a rug gripper/pad.  We have a really long hallway and I was tired of my dog skidding down it like the road runner (meep meep!).  I also replaced our area rug with something softer and more attractive (but a bit harder to clean).

Net Worth / Financial Independence – Net worth is up about a percent this month.  I made a small mortgage prepayment and I sent a bunch of extra cash to my student loan (as discussed here).  We’re about halfway to a 4% SWR, and 30% there for mortgage payoff – and those numbers don’t move much month-to-month.  It also isn’t a singular goal and we are not willing to move or make drastic lifestyle changes to accelerate the timeline, so it is just a metric rather than a plan.

Work: Because this brings in the money!

I don’t feel like saying much this month. Things are busy and good, although I feel a little burnt out at the moment. Some longer term stuff is in worrisome, but there is time before it will be an issue, and there is nothing I can do now that I’m not already doing.

Life:

We had a fun wedding in Tahoe – beautiful venue and a nice intimate crowed.  It was so much fun, and we got to see some old acquaintances from our LA days.

My parents visited!  It was short, but good.  We spent one day up the coast eating fresh oysters and checking out the beach.  The other day we hosted my uncle and cousin and her husband and  cute little girls – so much fun to see family nearby.

Other than that, there was some work travel (good but draining) and some dog training, and the aforementioned house project.  Life is good and busy, but not so exciting to write about.

Looking ahead…

October will be more of the same – work, work travel, house projects, dog, celebrating some birthdays in our usual low key way (dinner out).  We spent so many weekends out-of-town for the summer that I’m having trouble justifying any fun day trips when we have so much to do at home.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2017 11:18 am

    I think our October will be similar: work work, a bit of travel for work, dog/kid stuff, getting more of the house in order. I hope that’s as exciting as it gets!

  2. October 20, 2017 3:11 pm

    Hey, I hope you guys are okay with the fire stories. I forgot where you are exactly, but hope you are okay!

    • October 23, 2017 8:20 am

      Thanks! Yes, we are safe and out of harms way!

Leave a Reply

