Skip to content

February Goal Report, March Goals

February 27, 2009

February Goals

  1. Stick to “once a week” eating out rule. Success We did amazing on this one!  I think we are back in the habit.
  2. Run 2-3 times a weekFail during week of midterm, success otherwise.  (yeah, I know that equals fail over all, whatev.  we also did a lot of hiking)
  3. Study appropriately for midterm  – Success. I could have done much better, but I made dumb mistakes that were  not due to lack of studying, more like, my general lack of not reading the questions carefully.  This is a life long struggle of mine.  And I did fine, just not amazing.
  4. Savings goals: Success. Bonus and tax refunds are clouding the issue, but I did save a bunch this month.  I practically canceled out my stock market losses

Net Worth Report: I generally like to wait until the very last day of the month so my tiny interest can accumulate in my “high yield” savings and I can account all the stock market losses.  But as of today, my net worth increased by $921 to $24,739 due to better than usual cash savings.  Retirement was pounded by the markets again, as usual, and looks like we’ll lock in roughly another 2% decrease for today.  OUCH.

March Goals

  1. Apply for new passport.  Can you believe mine disappeared?  All my beautiful pages filled up with cool stamps, gone!!
  2. Run 2-3 times a week – As usual…  We’ve been doing some long hikes on Saturday, so I’ve been averaging only twice a week.   It might not be a priority this month due to finals and such.  Looks like I don’t have a project this quarter.
  3. Sign up for a 5k – What?  This is new!  Probably won’t do it until April, but I at least want to commit myself on paper.
  4. Cook 2 new things This is always a fun one.
  5. Do not eat out more than once per weekend/week. This is a general rule, but I’m going to keep it as a goal for one more month to solidify the habit. Vacation doesn’t count!!!
  6. Adjust budget based on new pay.  As if I’d NOT do this one.  Love making budgets!
  7. Final exam – Eeeeeek!   Already?!?!   Also, sell textbook (profit!), buy next textbook, and be all registered up to start after my Portland trip.
  8. Discuss possible future assignments with manager again.  I’m so over the type of thing I”m doing now.  But in addition…
  9. Do better at stepping up on this task.  I’m supposed to be getting mentored to be a tech lead, and I know I’ve been stressed out by a million other things and hanging back a little.  I can improve this.
  10. Save $50 in Misc fund.  I usually spend it or allocate it to some other savings goal, but I’m trying to build up a buffer for a new camera.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2009 6:49 pm

    What happened to your passport. My passport is, by far, my prized physical possession which I value the most in my life, and if I lost it I would cry.

  2. February 27, 2009 11:59 pm

    I really don’t know. I had it for my first day of my job last year and wasn’t able to locate it this summer. So I need a new one. I’m slightly sad my stamps are gone, but less sad than I’d imagined.

  3. February 28, 2009 5:19 am

    I totally forgot about interest being earned!

    I agree with Frugal Bachelor = My passport is extremely valuable for EVERYTHING including identification here in a new province LOL

  4. March 1, 2009 11:09 pm

    Good Luck with 5K! I just signed up for Triathlon in May. I’d better get ready! you might want to check out my new blog http://chickycareer.blogspot.com/ yay!

  5. March 13, 2009 2:42 pm

    Good luck with finding a 5k! There are SO many to choose from in southern CA. I ran my first one last Oct and ran the Surf City on in Huntington Beach in Feb. It was awesome. I’m a SLOW runner but I’m just starting out. Keep up the great work! If you are trying to locate a 5k – check out http://www.active.com and search for running near your zip code. That’s how I’ve found the ones I’m doing.

Leave a comment