Skip to content

Planning to move!

November 5, 2008

We finally have a real plan for me moving. I’ll move as soon as my lease is up (adjusting for availability) to a place where the rent for a 1 bdrm or a glorified studio will range from $950 to $1100. This will be in January-March, and will save me at least $325/month immediately. Though moving is an expense on its own and it’ll probably be a wash at first. T will move in June or sooner (TBD). At that point, we’ll split the rent. Maybe 50/50, maybe some other way considering income… I’m really not concerned about that part. His rent is currently about $1000, so combined, we’ll be saving a ton. I like having a plan. 🙂

After living in the Midwest and paying $475 for a quite nice newly renovated one bedroom to myself, it took months before I could write out an LA style rent check without cringing. Now I don’t cringe, but there is still some amount of awe in handing over an amount equivalent to my parent’s mortgage. Last month, I handed them the check and they told me to wait while they looked up my rent. Apparently I had been paying 2 cents too little ever since March, and they wanted to be sure to get every penny they were owed. Ha.

Moving is a pain… but I’m still excited about it!

Other news:

  • My grad school has accepted 1 of the 2 classes I requested to transfer from my previous graduate university. I think there was miscommunication on the second one, so I’m going to talk to someone. I took 3 legitimate graduate courses while working in Iowa, and if two of them can’t be applied towards my degree, I’m going to be annoyed.  UPDATE:  Still being a pain, but I’m not yet giving up!
  • My student loan in-school deferment wasn’t processed before they took my money for November. I called them, and they said it will be done this week. I’m watching them! (They have screwed up so many times!)
  • I voted!!! I was worried I hadn’t registered in time, but it turns out i had (even though the internet “are you registered?” site had no record of me). I’m excited to see what happens in the next few years. I hope Obama lives up to all the hope so many Americans have placed in him. I’m hopeful, and excited!
  • It’s getting cold and I’m thinking I need (ok, want) some running pants. I’m thinking of adding a small “Fitness” category to my budget to cover shoes and other things I might need.
  • I hate Open Enrollment. It is confusing! Too many choices!
6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 1:12 pm

    Cheaper rent is the best thing. You will not believe how much money you save easily once you share a place!

    I’m pretty sure the reason I have my health plan is because it was free and I have no idea what else to base coverage on.

    You’re so organized with your savings, I’m sorta jealous. I just wind up having to spend my clothing budget on stuff like that. I never think ahead!

  2. November 6, 2008 3:30 pm

    Organized, or obsessive? 🙂

    I do typically spend my clothing budget on that .. maybe that would be sufficient, but then I wonder “new running shoes… or some new sweaters?” Running shoes don’t stand a chance.

  3. November 6, 2008 5:12 pm

    Organization tends to lead to obsession, that’s how you know you’re doing it right 😉

    I’m always more excited about the idea of choices and Open Enrollment than I am when it actually happens. That’s probably why I have to force myself to work on it waaay ahead of time when “it doesn’t matter” yet.

    You could start a Moving Fund! I have one, but there’s only $15 in it. Er, it’ll be a little while before that’s ready, I guess.

  4. November 6, 2008 5:17 pm

    @R – I thought about that, but I think I’ll just take it from my emergency fund, even though moving isn’t an emergency.

    In order to create a moving fund, I would funnel Efund contributions to a “moving fund” for a couple months, then empty the moving fund.

    So it should have the same net effect, but one less “fund” on my spreadsheet

  5. November 10, 2008 9:59 am

    Seriously – for 2 cents? Geez! Did you scrounge into your wallet for pennies to settle your delinquent ways? 😉

  6. El Cheapo permalink
    November 10, 2008 7:58 pm

    I hear ya on the rent costs. Three years ago I was paying $625 for a large one-bedroom plus den w/in minutes of my old job in Chicago. I am currently paying about $1100 to live in half the amount of space.. a nice neighborhood for LA, yes, but no public trans to work and less cool stuff to do w/in walking distance of home.

    Good luck on the move!

Leave a Reply

