Skip to content

PF confessions

April 5, 2010

Confession 1: It is April 5th and I haven’t even CREATED my April budget spreadsheet tab, much less done a full reconciliation of February.  And I only feel very mildly guilty about this fact.

Confession 2: I spent over $40 on a single belt, and it feels like blasphemy.  And it’s a fairly unique belt, not a “I’ll wear it every day” belt.   But it looks quite nice with a skirt I already owned, so… score?

Confession 3: I transferred $3,400 from our wedding fund into my checking account.  I know this was planned, but, wow.

Confession 4: Even though the wedding is within several miles of where we live, we booked a hotel room for the night at a really nice place.  For $250 (after taxes/fess).  It’s about a $400/night place, but still.  Talk about frivolous.  But nice!

Confession 5: I’m paying someone to do my make-up.   And you know what?  I’m glad.  I’m not super good (or patient) with make-up, and it will look much better. And… I just couldn’t deal.

Plus a revelation:  I tried on some heels at BR this weekend — on sale for $80.  I realized maybe I can walk in taller heals without appearing to be mimicking a baby giraffe  (I usually only do 2″).  Maybe it is the fit of the heels that was the problem in the past.  However, I didn’t buy them, mostly because all my pants are the right length for lower heels.  And because, totally not necessary (though they looked quite nice).  And with tall heels, I could be strikingly tall!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 4:45 am

    For shame!!!!

    No, I kid. Better aware of your spending and confessing than being in denial! I don’t like reading blogs where the writer is perfect and never spends a dime on something they want. Definitely can’t relate to those authors. So good for you for paying someone to do their make up and splurging on a nice hotel. And I’d love to see a picture of that belt… sounds really cute. 🙂

  2. April 6, 2010 7:13 am

    I have the hardest time paying more than like $10 for a belt, but I’m considering splurging on some nice ones because I’ve been belting EVERYTHING lately. I currently have a 15% off Anthropologie birthday discount clutched in my sweaty palms, so we’ll see. (Also, I second the call for pictures!)

    I have lots of heels I can walk in, but the ones I can’t are usually the cutest ones.

  3. April 6, 2010 10:22 am

    I’m paying someone to do my makeup too. I still haven’t mastered eyeliner at age 30 and I doubt I will in the next two months. I think it’s worth it. And I agree, post pictures of the belt!

  4. April 6, 2010 12:55 pm

    Don’t beat yourself up too much! Weddings are expensive, but some of those things are definitely worth splurging on-especially the hotel room!

Leave a Reply

