Skip to content

Things of Note

August 10, 2013

I’ve been too busy to do much of anything for the past month, much less blog about what I’m doing.   Prior to last month, I was having a bit of an emotional crisis.  I’m going to keep some personal stuff and “future plans” talk private for the time being.  Regular readers / commenters can e-mail me if you are curious about anything, but in short, everything is great and there are no problems with anything.

The only problem?  I miss blogging, and I want to start again!  Blogging will most likely continue to be light for the next few months, but I hope to update regularly!

Financial and blog things of note:

1)  I haven’t looked at my finances/spending in over 2 months, and we hadn’t calculated any detailed net worth since the beginning of the year… until this morning!  We’ve increased about 22% this year, mostly due to automatic savings to retirement and T’s increased income.

2)  I have been eating out more than usual, both for work lunches and with friends and my husband.  Similar story for him.  This has got to stop.

3)  I have been mostly too busy to shop! Yay!

4)  We’ve also been earning two “real” incomes and paying just one rent for the first time in awhile, so #2 hasn’t been killing us yet.  It still isn’t how I’d like to see my money spent, but we are still saving quite a bit.  Real is in quotes, because T is still leaving a fairly large chunk of money on the table while he is doing a post-doc.  However, it is more than we’ve ever made and it makes it possible to be negligent on tracking money without disaster.

5)  I used Google Reader right up until July 1st.  I exported my subscriptions, but didn’t import them into my new reader until today.  I’ve been keeping up on blogs somewhat just by visiting my favorites, but I miss having a reader keep track of everything for me.  I’m finally back in the swing of blog things!

Other things of note this summer:

I spent the 4th of July with family in Minnesota.  I love midwestern summers, and it was great to spend time with my niece and nephew.  We spent time at the lake, lit fireworks in the driveway, and went to a show over the lake.  Bug spray, camp fires, hot days at the lake = my childhood summers re-lived!

T and I skipped planning an international vacation this summer.  However, he went to Istanbul for his job, and I went to Dubai for mine!  It was the first time to the Middle East for both of us.  We actually overlapped for about a day or two, but weren’t able to meet up due to lack of advanced planning for my trip.   It was so great to have an opportunity to be a part of an international business trip.  It was something I was hoping to get to be a part of so badly, and I think they originally invited me for my own benefit (as a reward, as retention strategy, and to try to convince me to stay in that area of the company).   Last minute, it turned out our key technical person was not able to make the trip with us, and so it worked out very well that I was able to cover.  Well, I did my best to cover, at least!  And I got a lot of good feedback.

I went a couple of days early, so I did have a little time for site seeing.  However, Dubai in July during Ramadan is a completely non-ideal time to try to be a tourist.  I didn’t get a good sense for the country or the culture.  I did ride a camel and drive through the desert!  There is some chance I’ll go back in September or so, but it is looking uncertain.

On that note, work has been (clearly) great.  I’m still splitting between two jobs, but getting a push from management to focus (which I totally understand).  I have a hard time saying no to opportunities and an even harder time leaving things unfinished, so I’m really trying to balance both in the short term, with a long term plan to focus on a single program.

Lastly, I’m about to spend a week in the Sierra Nevada mountains!  No internet, no phone, no work – just mountain lakes, relaxation, and bliss.  And lots and lots and lots of hiking.  At 6 days and 5 nights, this will be our longest trip to date… and I’m excited / scared!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2013 10:25 am

    Thanks for checking in! I look forward to your more regular but light posting.

  2. August 10, 2013 1:43 pm

    Wow, that all sounds amazing! Go you!

  3. August 10, 2013 3:35 pm

    Awesome! Glad things are going great on your end 🙂

  4. oilandgarlic permalink
    August 12, 2013 9:59 am

    All that sounds great! Glad you and T are doing well.

  5. August 19, 2013 7:46 am

    Good to hear from you and hear good updates. I want to say, don’t beat yourself up too much about not tracking spending for a couple of months — what a victory that you can slip that way and cause no major problems for yourself. Take a moment to breathe and bask in that awesomeness. 🙂 You rock!

  6. August 21, 2013 7:35 am

    Visiting during Ramadan I heard can be tough. I had friends who had to work there during Ramadan and they had to hide under tables to eat sandwiches during the work day.

Leave a Reply

