Skip to content

February Food Challenge: $200

February 2, 2009

In January, I spent $120 going out to eat.   That is just what I personally paid for–I don’t know what T paid.  Additionally, $185 went towards groceries.  I don’t remember buying anything special at the grocery store, though I didn’t have much for groceries after going home for Christmas. (I guess I do remember going out to eat a lot..)

That is a total of $305 for JUST food.  I categorize toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, etc as home.  Any personal care items are in the personal category.  Even the alcohol gets separated into “entertainment”.  I should note that isn’t just for me–T and I both pay for meals out and groceries, but I have a hunch that I pay for more stuff that he eats, than vice versa.  Still, it is mostly for just me.

Krystal is hosting a February food challenge, and I set my goal at $200 for February.   My average last year was ~$225/month for grocery and eating out together, and February is a short month.  I didn’t do anything sneaky and load up on groceries in the end of January, so I already spent $25 yesterday.  I’m going to track my food purchases in glorious detail on my new tab (I’ll post/archive it the end of the month).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 1:49 pm

    I signed up for the food challenge with a similar budget, $400 for both Mr M and I. But I’m kind of cheating, we did a ton of shopping on the 31st. I had some coupons that were expiring and there was a good sale at ralphs…We should coast on thru February as a result. Seriously, I could feed an army with the food in my house. We almost never eat out, I’m planning on one night out for valentines at this cheap thai place near our house. Nothing says romance like curry.

  2. February 2, 2009 7:18 pm

    Do you buy dish soap etc. at Grocery store? If so do you have convenient way to split purchase between food and non-food.

    Do you count sales tax?

    P.S. I looked at your tab and saw $5.99 lb. ground beef. Dang!!!

  3. February 2, 2009 7:40 pm

    @miss M – Lol, i love curry! I love eating out, it is hard to cut back

    @Frugal Bachelor – I buy them at the grocery store sometimes, and more often at CVS. But really, they are like once a month purchases. I just glance at the receipt and estimate to the nearest dollar. Groceries are tax free, so the tax goes with home/personal.

    And yeah, that is why I so rarely purchase meat. I get confused by the signage and I really don’t even know WHAT a good price is for any of it.

Trackbacks

  1. February Food Challenge Success « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

