Skip to content

Ready to face the week

March 8, 2010

I did pretty great on my weekend to-do list (let’s face it — I’m NEVER washing my car).  Even with all the chores, it was quite a lovely weekend.  My 6.5 mile beach run was AMAZING, T was home early-ish on  Sunday, and I finally am getting into my book.

The wedding is still bringing unnecessary spending, and it all seems so justifiable because you only get married once.  At the last minute, I ordered about $150 of extra flowers for the ceremony because I suddenly thought the silk ones that were decorating the arch needed to be real.  I’m not sure why, but it definitely felt important in the moment. I don’t know.  I’m a little crazy, but only for a few more weeks.

I’m still checking Expedia daily to see if the hotel goes on sale again.  I’m still kicking myself daily for booking the wrong dates when it was about $70 cheaper each night.  ::::sigh:::::   But why pay $500 when we have  a perfectly lovely apartment?

My parents gave me the last $1000 of their $5000 donation to our wedding.  Even with travel and lodging costs to come here to celebrate with us, they spent more on my sister’s Midwest wedding 5 years ago.  That’s ok with me — I’m several years older than she was and I’d feel silly not contributing to my own wedding.  Plus, times are different now.  The economy has definitely affected them.

I have a feeling it is going to be a busy week, both in and out of work!  Let’s hope I can stick to my budget and stay sane.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 5:58 pm

    I felt like the budget completely fell to the side by the time the wedding rolled around. And good call on the real flowers – if I could change one thing about our wedding, that might be it.

    I think that if I could do our 10-mile training on the beach, I would be completely into it. I’m just glad that I can run outside again!

  2. El Cheapo permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:59 pm

    I’ve been angling to wash my car for weeks now, but can’t seem to find a window where it doesn’t rain (okay drizzle) to mess things up. So tough living on SoCal, eh? Btw, I’m super jealous that you and T can do beach runs. I’m located in a nicer part of the Valley and have some good options w/ the Rose Bowl and hiking in Angeles Crest… but I’ve always thought that beach runs would be fun/challenging/scenic/borderline romantic too. Heh

Leave a Reply

