Skip to content

Yearly Goals

December 21, 2011

I have been thinking about recapping my 2011 goals and setting some 2012 goals.  Except, I never actually finished setting my 2011 goals.  We started out the year with a lot of unknowns.  Would T finish that year?  If so, would we move?  Neither of those things happened, but here are some largely unplanned things that affected us financial this year:

  • We bought a new car with cash
  • T took a high paying summer job
  • We decided to turn a conference into a northern European vacation
  • T got a fellowship for this year and decided not to graduate yet
  • We bought a new laptop

Yet I feel like NOT having goals really hurt us.  We didn’t pay as much attention to tracking spending or being conservative with our purchases.  So even though we have a lot of similar questions for 2012, I need to figure out some sort of new system.  I’m not sure what it is yet. It’s much easier to plan when you have a steady bi-weekly income coming in (which I do, but T’s is variable).

We did max out our retirement accounts (Roth + 401k for me, Roth for T) and we had a really good year as far as everything goes… but we could have done more financially I think.

Do you have trouble with yearly goals?  Or do you knock yours out of the park?

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 21, 2011 9:09 pm

    I have to set annual goals or I find that I don’t accomplish what I would have otherwise. I will revise my annual goals midyear if things have changed. I did that this year. I revisit my goals monthly to see where I’m at with them. I also number them in priority so I don’t lose sight of the most important financial goals that I have. However, this year I got a new job which trumps all financial goals.

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

