Skip to content

Three work days left

November 25, 2013

Maybe I threw myself into work the past 2 weeks to avoid thinking about the transition. Or maybe it really was just that busy.  I don’t know.  We had a big meeting on Thursday that I spent many hours prepping for – but after that, things returned to normal pace.

I got tears in my eyes  at my office for the first time in months last Friday when realizing that my time was almost over.  I  have just 3 days left at the job I’ve been with about 6 years.  In six years, I’ve had several different “jobs” and worked with several different groups and had some truly amazing experiences.  I’ll miss it, but I’m hopeful that there will be new and wonderful experiences ahead – career and otherwise.

My husband admitted to being a little scared / sad / overwhelmed by the move.  “Are you scared too?” he asked.

I’m not.  To be honest, I literally spent 4 months crying about moving, crying about changes, and coming to terms with our new future.  I was scared, but not anymore.  I’m sad, but ready.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2013 11:31 pm

    It’s always scary moving… my family and I moved a lot growing up and it never gets easier. Take time to say bye but know you can always come back and visit…

  2. November 26, 2013 10:34 pm

    I am so, so terrible with change. I always have been. I feel like I’ve already made my peace with my job change though and I’m not sad about it anymore, which, in a way, means I have made the right decision. I am so excited to start my new job in the new year! 16 more working days (I think)!!

    I was far more sad when I left my last job. I’d been there for almost 3 years, which felt like forever. This job, I just never really started liking. I cried so much, even though it was the right decision to leave.

    Good luck with your last day tomorrow 🙂

    • November 28, 2013 11:24 am

      I’ve been here almost 6 years, albeit 3 different “jobs” at the same company. I didn’t cry on my last day, though I did get teary-eyed.

Leave a Reply

